Rays Outdoors networking night

Wednesday 7 June 6pm – 8pm

You are invited to attend an information and networking night at Rays Outdoors store at 93 High street, Bendigo.

Rays Outdoors is wanting to meet people who are into adventure sports around Bendigo. The manager of the store is keen to build positive links with local clubs help meet our ‘gear’ needs and help promote our activities. This evening is the first step towards that.

There will be short presentations from bush walkers, runners, orienteers and scouts as well as the store manager. Food and drink will be available.

It would be great to have a few members there to support Bendigo Orienteers’ presentation, and meet some others who may be interested in coming to an event we are running.


Thank You

Bendigo Orienteers has applied for, and received, funding from Orienteering Victoria to reimburse trophy engraving and medals for the 2016 end-of-year presentations, and Parks Victoria permit fees for 2017.

We would like to thank OV for their contribution.

Bendigo Orienteers 40th Anniversary Event

40th Anniversary Event – Wildflower Drive, 27 May 2017

Bendigo Orienteers was formed in January 1977 as Bendigo Bushwalking and Orienteering Club.

All orienteers are welcome to join us on the Wildflower Drive map as we celebrate and reminisce on club and personal achievements from the past 40 years. Please stay after your run – at 2.00pm our President Julie Flynn will cut the commemorative cake and a sumptuous afternoon tea will begin.

Bring a Friend or Bring a Plate – or Both!

As a special incentive, anyone who brings a friend to come-and-try orienteering will receive free entry on the day. If you don’t have any friends please bring a plate of goodies for afternoon tea. If anyone still has an old club tee-shirt or other retro gear, please wear them – if they still fit!

The Event

Our 40th Anniversary Event will celebrate some aspects of 20th Century orienteering. There will be no SI sticks or other electronic devices in use. Instead, we will return to the glories of punchcards and the joys of analogue timing. A friendly official will allocate your start time at the start triangle and another will determine your finish time as you cross the finish line. Competitors are responsible for punching the card in the appropriate square at each control as they navigate their course. Don’t forget to hand your punch card in to the finish officials who will then check the card and determine the time taken.

The Courses

The usual five Bendigo Bush Classic courses will be available

Directions: From Bendigo take the McIvor Highway (B280) towards Heathcote. After 6.0km turn right (O-sign) into St Vincents Rd. After a further 600m turn right (O-sign) into Cassinia Drive. Parking is along Cassinia Drive, please respect residents by not restricting driveways.

The Memories

Our Club is Born

Can you identify these people! (click to enlarge)

1984 Easter 3 Day, Tasmania

1984 Vic Relay M40 Champions

Bendigo Vic Orienteer of the Year Champions, 1986

Marking up master control cards, 1991

Mandurang Wrap-Up

Coolibah Saturday 29 April.

The day was reasonably fine and stayed that way in spite of some very short misty periods early in the afternoon – a perfect day for wandering around this part of our bush. Colin Walker set the courses on the Coolibah section of the Mandurang map – the south east side, making full use of the subtle contour and well mapped rock feature. The area is deceptive in that it looks easy but, as several competitors found out to their sorrow, it is full of lovely little shallow gullies that look easy on the map but almost disappear when you are looking for them. About seventy competitors went out including a contingent of Outdoor Education students from the university.

Ben Goonan (Bgo) was first in on Course 1 with Lanita Steer (Dandenong Ranges) and Warwick Williams (Bgo) in hot pursuit.

Glenn James, one of Bendigo’s top juniors took out the honours on Course 2 forming a trifecta with Nic Cherry and Andrew Cameron. Lachlan Cherry beat his dad Don home by about six minutes but Don managed to maintain some superiority by finishing in front of daughter Karina and another of our talented juniors, Caitlyn Steer.

Warwick Davis, Tuckonie OC was first home on Course 3, closely followed by Archie Neylon (Archie’s mum, Rebecca also finished well on Course 5!) and the Camerons, Reuben and Bob; it was good to see Archie and his mum coming up from Kyneton and performing well on a rather tricky course.

Course 4 attracted four competitors with Richard Sallmann coming in ahead of first timer Rob Rigarto, Nicole Baxter and Bendigo club’s veteran Ian Johnson.

Jan Baxter took out Course 5 – well done Jan, followed in by Lauren Brunner, and, once more, a wonderful effort by Akira Hill guiding Nana Judy around the course.

It was a good day, thanks to a good map and really great course setting.

Ready to take on the spiderwebs

‘Twas the first official race in the club’s orienteering year,
Before midday the first runners began to appear.

They came from Bendigo, Melbourne and overseas,
Ready to take on the spiderwebs between the trees.

One third of all runners took part on course one,
Ahead of Mikkel, Aston and Ben, Brodie has won.

Lots set out on the loops of course two,
Morten, Andrew and Nic were the top few.

The mapper Alex showed up for course three,
He had a win. Next in line was Raelee.

Yarra Valley did well on course number four,
But at the end of the day Jacqui came to the fore.

The kids all did well on course number five,
Ashley, Hugo and Isobel were in overdrive.

There were newcomers to the club who were out for a run,
I hope they found their way and had lots of fun.

Thanks to everyone who helped put on the event.
The satisfaction rate was close to 100 per cent.

Thanks for indulging my April Fools jest,
I think the idea was one of my best.


Clare & Charles


March 11 2017
Course setter: John Wilkinson

Today’s training course was held on old mining and bush terrain in Golden Square. Hot and dry conditions and challenging courses provided an enjoyable exercise for a small group of old and new competitors. Thanks to those who came and those who helped collect controls at the end (Peter Forbes, Jenny Ball, Terry Davidson, John Wilkinson). We were packed up and headed for home by 3 pm.

Course 1. 4 km
C. Feuerherdt 24.38 min
J. Cameron 26.10
A. Cameron 31.45
T. Radford 34.28
L. Maggs 34.38
W. Williams 37.01
S. Collins 41.16
T. Davidson 55.55
P. Lohmeyer-Collins 58.05
K. Liley 57.29 dnf

Course 2. 3 km
M. Loughnan 22.07
D. Eenjes 28.55
A. Radford 30.56
V. McMillan 35.37
J. Baxter 36.21
J. Carter 36.35
J. Ball 41.27
A. Walz 45.34

Course 3. 2 km
H. Carter 19.49
N. Brunner 22.08
S. Davidson 26.33
L. Cleary 36.13 / 17.10 (2nd run)
I. Johnson 43.23